top of page

Buddho means seed of enlightenment and is the central meditation of the Buddho system.

It was brought from the Himalayas and passed on to the rest of the world in the 1990s by the monk Seiji Takamori.

The Buddho system is the backbone of Reiki Jin Kei Do and has its origins in ancient Indian meditation and healing methods and the Highest Yoga Tantra of Tibet.

There are strong links between the Buddho system and the widely known Reiki system. The teachings and practices of Reiki are fundamentally rooted in and are a simplified form of the Buddho method. Buddho connects to the Sanskrit/Tibetan origins, mantras, yantras, symbols, and meditations that informed the development of modern Reiki.





Empowerments are given to raise the student's vibrational energy and to enhance their awareness of energy flow. The three components of the Buddho method are sitting meditation, Chi-Nadi moving meditations (a form of Qi Gong), and healing methods.

During the formal meditations and the Chi Nadi form, attention should be placed on the various sensations within the body as well as the mental and emotional states, thus leading to a heightened awareness of the six faculties and their perception of different sensory input.


For most students, it is necessary to have taken training in and received the empowerments for Reiki Jin Kei Do Levels 1 and 2 prior to attending a Buddho workshop. Exceptions to this can only be made for Buddhist monks and those who have been committed to an extensive period of personal meditation practice. In these instances, there is no requirement to have taken training in Reiki Jin Kei Do first. Buddho students are taken through a graduated training in accordance with its Tantric origins. This maintains a strong container and focus for the teachings. The system runs in tandem with the Reiki teachings, and can be accessed at various points, either following completion of training in Reiki or at a point where the Buddho system builds on the work done within the related level of the Reiki system.

A typical route through the teachings would be something like this:

Reiki Level 1 / Reiki Level 2 / Buddho Level 1 / Buddho Level 2 / Reiki Level 3 / Buddho Level 3 / Buddho Level 4

The Four Levels of Buddho

Level 1

The Buddho meditation is introduced and the student receives an empowerment that activates four of the major chakras. The consequent increase in the student’s awareness of the subtle vibrations of these energy centers becomes the focus of meditation at this stage. Two Sanskrit and three Tibetan symbols are taught for use in the three cycles of meditation at this level to enhance the flow of energy in the activated chakras. Instructions are given on breathing methods for strengthening the lungs and nadis of the upper body. The first steps of the Chi Nadi exercises are also introduced.

Level 2

Two further cycles are added to the three cycles of meditation from level 1 with further activation of the chakras. The next set of movements within the Chi Nadi exercise are taught and two mantras (sacred sounds) and yantras (visual meditation devices) used in healing and meditation are introduced. Distant healing techniques are taught and the origins of the 2nd Degree Reiki symbols are explored. An introduction to nadi channels and marma points is given along with methods of healing using these points through a technique called point pulse. The deepening of energy awareness through specific breathing exercises to achieve this are given.

Level 3

This is the level required to be able to teach the previous two levels. Two further cycles are added to the meditation along with an empowerment to increase the activation of the chakras. More powerful mantras and yantras are introduced to deepen the state of meditation. Training is also given on the achieving of absorptive states (jhanas or dhyanas) through a form of Samatha meditation derived from Theravadan Buddhism, and the factors observed in each of the absorptions. Further breathing exercises are given to increase awareness of subtle energy flow. The origins of the Reiki Master symbol are given at this level. The student is then taught the activation techniques for levels 1 and 2. Further instruction in Chi Nadi is given.

Level 4

This stage involves advanced meditation techniques for deepening awareness of energy and the achieving of absorptive states. Further empowerment is given, and further breathing techniques are taught. Work with yantras is developed and a 4th level symbol for meditation and healing given. The use of marma points and nadis is expanded upon along with the initiation into higher meditation and object (sign). Students are taught how to achieve and stabilize the learning sign and introduced to the 12 links of the mind and the five constituents of being. The activation techniques for level 3 are learned. The end-stage of training allows the student to teach Level 4 itself. The final instructions on completing the Chi Nadi form are given.

One of the key components of the Buddho system, as with the Reiki system, is the cultivation of energy. In this respect, it has much in common with the practice of Qi Gong, particularly through the teachings and practice of Chi Nadi.

bottom of page